Joel Krautter

Montana Chamber of Commerce is recognizing 27 legislators with its “Champion of Business” award for their work during the 66th Montana Legislature, including Sidney’s Rep. Joel Krautter. Sen. Jeff Welborn of Dillon was named the Montana Chamber’s “Most Valuable Policymaker” (MVP) of the 2019 session.

Champion of Business and MVP designations identify policymakers who stood up for job creation, free enterprise and economic development in 2019.

“Being an advocate for our business community and for policies that promote the growth of good jobs in our state and local economy are priorities of mine as a legislator, so this award means a lot to me,” said Krautter.

To be named a Champion of Business, a legislator must earn a score that meets or exceeds 90 percent in the Montana Chamber’s Voting Review, supported the Montana Chamber’s top six priority bills and sponsored no anti-business legislation.

The full list of legislators recognized includes:

Rep. Fred Anderson, Great Falls

Sen. Duane Ankney, Colstrip

Rep. David Bedey, Hamilton

Rep. Edward Buttrey, Great Falls

Rep. Geraldine Custer, Forsyth

Rep. Julie Dooling, Helena

Rep. Ross Fitzgerald, Fairfield

Sen. Steve Fitzpatrick, Great Falls

Sen. Pat Flowers, Belgrade

Rep. Frank Garner, Kalispell

Sen. Terry Gauthier, Helena

Sen. Bruce Gillespie, Ethridge

Sen. Jen Gross, Billings

Rep. Bruce Grubbs, Bozeman

Rep. Kenneth Holmlund, Miles City

Rep. Mike Hopkins, Missoula

Rep. Llew Jones, Conrad

Rep. Joel Krautter, Sidney

Sen. Nate McConnell, Missoula

Sen. Tom Richmond, Billings

Rep. Walt Sales, Manhattan

Sen. Dan Salomon, Ronan

Sen. Jon Sesso, Butte

Rep. Ray Shaw, Sheridan

Sen. Jason Small, Busby

Sen. Jeff Welborn, Dillon (MVP)

Rep. Tom Welch, Dillon

The chamber’s “Champion of Business” award is the third post-legislative session award Krautter has received. Krautter’s other awards include the Montana Farm Bureau’s “Rookie of the Year” award for the legislator who went above and beyond for Montana agriculture and rural Montana in their first term, and the “Impact” award, given at the Montana Suicide Prevention Conference for Krautter’s work to sponsor and pass legislation to support suicide prevention and mental health care.

Load comments